David Ashley to Chair Gilmer Dems

David Ashley was elected as the new chair of the Gilmer County Democratic Committee on September 13. David assumed the chair position with the unanimous support of the Committee after the resignation of Noah May.

David Ashley standing in front of Gilmer courthouse
David Ashley, chair, Gilmer County Democratic Committee

Noah, who will be deeply missed, is moving out of Gilmer County but will become active in his local Democratic chapter. We are forever grateful to Noah and his predecessor, Melba Gandy, for their leadership of the organization.

At the same meeting, Leslie Wade was appointed as a Vice Chair of the Committee and Beth Williams as Secretary. Dennis Brixius of the Turniptown area was appointed as a general Committee member.

Continuing officers include Vice Chair Jo Hensley and Treasurer Terry Woehr. The Committee also includes members Teresa Suarez and Eunice Rosner.

The Gilmer Dems will be working to expand the Committee in the months ahead. Watch for upcoming announcements about the open seats available and please join us in giving a hearty and warm welcome to our new chair, David Ashley, and new Committee member, Dennis Brixius.