Democratic Debates 2019

Debate Announcement

  • The DNC announced the twenty candidates that have been invited to participate in the first Democratic presidential primary debate, and NBC announced who will appear on which night.

    • Night 1: Cory Booker, Julián Castro, Bill de Blasio, John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Jay Inslee, Amy Klobuchar, Beto O’Rourke, Tim Ryan, Elizabeth Warren

    • Night 2: Michael Bennet, Joe Biden, Pete Buttigieg, Kirsten Gillibrand, Kamala Harris, John Hickenlooper, Bernie Sanders, Eric Swalwell, Marianne Williamson, Andrew Yang

  • The first debate will take place over two back-to-back nights at 9 p.m. ET on June 26 and 27, 2019, in Miami, Florida.

  • The debate will be broadcast in prime time on NBC, MSNBC, and Telemundo, and will be streamed online for free on a variety of digital and social platforms.

  • The DNC and its media partner have committed to a system for selecting candidates for each night that ensures both nights have equal potential for high viewership.

  • Candidates were divided over two nights through random selection by our media partner. The random selection was divided into two groups – those polling at 2% or above and those under 2%.

More information on qualifying for the debate:

  • The DNC is committed to an inclusive and fair approach to setting the criteria for debate qualification, and it has taken unprecedented steps to ensure that this historically large field of candidates gets the opportunity to make their case on the debate stage to a wide audience.

  • The DNC’s qualification criteria is extremely generous – along with a low polling threshold of 1% in three polls, we included a new path for candidates through grassroots fundraising.

  • This grassroots fundraising requirement measures a candidate’s strength with small-dollar donors. It reflects a candidate’s grassroots support.

  • Setting this benchmark for campaigns encourages and rewards them for engaging in work that the DNC believes they absolutely must do in order to beat Donald Trump.